Delaware Township Historic Districts

Delaware Township currently has eight historic districts that are on the State and National Registers of

Historic Places.  The official boundaries of these historic areas and extensive further information about them
can be found on our History Mapping project.



Delaware and Raritan Canal Historic District – Approved in 1972 for the State Register and in 1973

for the National Register.  It extends through six counties from the Delaware River to the Raritan River.

Part of this district runs through Delaware Township.


Covered Bridge Historic District – Approved in 1999.  This district encompasses the area around the

only covered bridge left in the state of New Jersey.  The bridge itself was originally constructed in the mid-18th century.  It was listed individually by the State and National Registries in 1974.


Prallsville Industrial Historic District (Smith’s Mills) – Approved in 1976 for the State Register and

in 1979 for the National Register.  It includes the Prallsville Mill complex and the Prall houses.  [Note:  Both

Prallsville and Stockton were part of Delaware Township until 1898, and are still surrounded by the township.]


Sergeantsville Historic District – Approved in February 2009.  The village was formerly called

Skunktown [also ‘Skoonkton’ and ‘Skuncktown’].  The name was changed to Sergeantsville in 1827.

It is named for the Sergeant family that was prominent in the area.


Rosemont Rural Agricultural District – Approved in 2009.  Rosemont was first known as Cross Keys      after the tavern at the corner of Routes 604 & 519 [both early roads in the area].  Somewhat later it was referred to as Rittenhouse, after the tavern keeper of the same name.  It acquired the name of Rosemont around 1845.


Headquarters Historic District – Approved in February 2011.  It is one of Delaware Township’s oldest hamlets.  It grew around a grist mill that was constructed in 1735, probably by John Opdycke, one of the township’s most notable early settlers.  Its current name was used as early as 1816, but the myth of General Washington headquartering there remains unproven.


Sand Brook Historic District – Became a State Register district on February 21, 2013 and is awaiting approval for the National Register.  First developed in the later 1700s around the creek whose name it bears, Sand Brook offered the means for an early milling complex.  The church in the center of the village remains

a favored gathering place for its residents.


Raven Rock Historic District – Nominated for the State & National Registers in our 175th anniversary
year of 2013.  It is our small and charming Delaware River gem with its most well-known building being the Saxtonville Tavern at its north end.  Nomination was approved by the state in July 2014.  Due to unknown delay, official State Registry came on September 22, 2015 and National Registry on November 10, 2015.